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How to Use This Manval

Every person who operates a motorized vessel on Alabama’s waterways must have obtained Alabama boater safety certification. You
may obtain Alabama boater safety certification by showing valid proof of passing an approved boating safety course (see page 14) or by
passing a certification exam given by the Alabama Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Division. This manual is designed to
prepare you to take the certification exam given by the Alabama Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Division.

Take the Department of Public Safety Driver's License
Division (ertification Exam

If you choose to obtain your Alabama boater safety certification
by taking the exam given by the Alabama Department of Public
Safety Driver’s License Division, you should:

1. Study this manual to prepare for the exam.

2.Go to the Department of Public Safety Driver’s License
Examining Office in your county of residence to take the 25-
question exam. You will be required to present personal identifi-
cation.

3. Upon passing (answering 20 of the 25 questions correctly),
apply for your Alabama boater safety certification. You will have
the “V” class placed on your automobile driver’s license. Or,
if you do not have an automobile driver’s license, you will be
issued a “Vessel Only” license.

iv

Or ... Take the Online Course and Certification £xam

You can take an approved boating safety course online at
www.boat-ed.com/al

After passing the online exam, you will be mailed a course certificate

from the Alabama Marine Police. Take this certificate and personal

identification to the Department of Public Safety Driver’s License

Examining Office in your county of residence to have the “V” class

placed on your automobile driver’s license. Or, if you do not have an

automobile driver’s license, you will be issued a “Vessel Only” license.

Stay up-to-date on new boating laws ...

For state boating law information, call the Alabama Marine Police
Division at 334-242-3673. For federal boating laws, visit the U.S.
Coast Guard’s boating safety website at: www.uscgboating.org.

Information in this manual does not replace what is specifically legal for
boating in Alabama, which is found in Alabama Code and federal laws.
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Before going out on the water, take steps to
make the outing safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length (lasses

@ A vessel’s length class dictates the equipment
necessary to comply with federal and state laws.

@ Vessels are divided into four length classes:
* Less than 16 feet
* 16 feet to less than 26 feet
* 26 feet to less than 40 feet
* 40 feet to less than 65 feet

@ Length is measured from the tip of the bow in a
straight line to the stern. This does not include
outboard motors, brackets, rudders, bow attach-
ments, or swim platforms and ladders that are
not a molded part of the hull.

Vessel Capacity
@ Always check the capacity plate usually found

Inboards

@ DPersonal watercraft (PWCs) do not have a capacity plate.
Always follow the recommended capacity in the owner’s manual
and on the manufacturer’s warning decal.

Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the
water or on a commercial fueling ramp.
@ Before beginning to fuel:
* Check the entire fuel system for leaks. Tighten connections
frequently—engine vibration can loosen them.
* Turn off all engines and electrical equipment; shut off all fuel
valves; and close all windows, doors, and openings.
* Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.
* Always remove portable tanks from the vessel.

The most important safe fueling practice ...

If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation
system, turn it on for at least four minutes after fueling
and before starting your engine to remove gas vapors.

near the operator’s position or on the vessel’s transom. This
plate indicates the maximum weight capacity and maximum
number of people that the vessel can carry safely.

# While filling the fuel tank:
* Touch the fuel pipe or tank with the spout to prevent buildup
of static electricity.
* Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or in the water.
* Never fill a tank to the brim—Ileave room for gas to expand.



& After fueling:
. Irr.lmefiiately wipe up any spilled fuel. Air out the rag after Pre-Depa rture Checklist
using it; never throw it in the vessel or the water.
* Store fuel on board in a safety-approved storage tank, away
from the engine and in an area of good ventilation.

You can help assure a good time while operating your
vessel by performing this pre-departure check.
v Check the weather forecast for the area and timeframe

@ Additional safety procedures for PWCs: during which you will be boating.

* Avoid spills when fueling in or near the water. v/ Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate

* After fueling, open the door of the engine compartment and properly and all lights are working propetly.
sniff to check for any evidence of gas fumes. Do this before ' Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, and
starting the engine. If you do smell gas fumes, find the source carburetor.
and make repairs immediately. v Check the engine compartment for oil leaks.

* Do not tip the PWC to “fill all the way up.” The tank v/ Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make sure
provides for fuel expansion; if tank is overfilled, the fuel may hose clamps are tight.
expand and spill into the water. v/ Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be sure

Filinq aFloat Plan the bilge plug is replaced and secure.

Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave a float
plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local marina. A float

v/ Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery
and fire extinguishers.

v If so equipped, make sure the ignition safety switch and

plan should: wrist lanyard are in good order.
@ Describe the vessel, including its registration number, length, // Make sure you have the required number of personal
make, horsepower, and engine type. flotation devices (PFDs), and check that they are in good
@ State where you are going, the detailed route, and your expected condition.
return time. v Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative.

@ Give the name, address, and telephone number of each person
on board and an emergency contact.



.mﬂmlrﬂ On the Water

Safe navigation on Alabama waterways is everyone’s responsi-
bility. All vessel operators are equally responsible for taking action
necessary to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels

Even though no vessel has the “right-of-way” over another vessel,
there are some rules that every operator should follow when
encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of both operators
to take the action needed to avoid a collision. The following shows
what to do when you encounter another vessel.

To prevent collisions, every operator should
follow the three basic rules of navigation.

@ Dractice good seamanship.

@ Keep a sharp lookout.

@ Maintain a safe speed and distance.

Encountering Vessels with Limited Maneuverability
@ If operating a power-driven vessel, you must give way to:
* Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or
disabled vessel

* Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a vessel

|
towing or laying cable or a vessel constrained by its draft such
as a large ship in a channel
* A vessel engaged in commercial fishing
* A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking
@ If operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to:
* Any vessel not under command
* Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver
* A vessel engaged in commercial fishing

Navigation Rules

There are two terms that help explain these rules.

@ Stand-on vessel: The vessel which should maintain its
course and speed

@ Give-way vessel: The vessel which must take early and substan-
tial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing down, or
changing course

Meeting Head-On

Power vs. Power: Neither
vessel is the stand-on vessel.
Both vessels should keep to
the starboard (right).
Power vs. Sail: The power-
*| driven vessel is the give-way
vessel. The sailboat is the
stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail




Power vs. Power

(rossing Situations

Power vs. Power: The vessel
on the port (left) is the give-
way vessel. The vessel on the
starboard (right) is the stand-
on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The power-
driven vessel is the give-way
vessel. The sailboat is the
stand-on vessel.

Overtaking

Power vs. Power: The vessel
that is overtaking another
vessel is the give-way vessel.
The vessel being overtaken

is the stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The vessel that
is overtaking another vessel is

3l the give-way vessel. The vessel

being overtaken is the stand-
on vessel.

Nighttime Navigation

You should always be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels

Power vs. Sail

Power vs. Sail

when boating at night. Several types of lights serve as navigational

aids at night. The are four common navigation lights.

¢ Sidelights: These red and green

lights are called sidelights (also called
combination lights) because they are
visible to another vessel approaching
from the side or head-on. The red
light indicates a vessel’s port (left) side;
the green indicates a vessel’s starboard

(right) side.
Sternlight: This white light is seen

from behind the vessel.

Masthead Light: This white light
shines forward and to both sides and
is required on all power-driven vessels.
A masthead light must be displayed by
all vessels when under engine power.
The absence of this light indicates a
sailboat under sail.

All-Round White Light: On power-
driven vessels less than 39.4 feet in
length, this light may be used to
combine a masthead light and stern-
light into a single white light that

can be seen by other vessels from

any direction. This light serves as an
anchor light when sidelights are extin-
guished.

masthead light

sidelights
(combination)

sternlight

all-round white light

sidelights
(combination)



Encountering Vessels at Night

When you see a white and a green light, you
are the stand-on vessel. However, remain
alert in case the other vessel operator does
not see you or does not know the navigation
rules.

When you see only a white light, you are
overtaking another vessel. It is the stand-on
vessel whether it is underway or anchored.
You may go around it on cither side.

When you see a red and a white light, you
must give way to the other vessel! Slow
down and allow the vessel to pass, or pass to

the right behind the vessel.

. Give wayto

Encountering a \\\\,‘
Sailboat at Night W)
When you sce only a green :
light or only a red light,

you are approaching a
sailboat under sail and you must

give way. The sailboat under sail is
always the stand-on vessel!

é/?//' Give way to

sailboat!

U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON)

Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and information.
As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will need to know the
lateral navigation markers and non-lateral markers of the U.S. Aids
to Navigation System.

Lateral Markers

These navigation aids are used to mark the edges of safe water
areas; for example, directing travel within a channel. The markers
use a combination of colors and numbers, which may be applied to
buoys or permanently placed markers.



Red colors,

red lights, and

even numbers
indicate the right side
of the channel as a
boater enters from
the open sea or heads
upstream.

Green colors, green
lights, and odd
numbers indicate the
left side of the channel
as a boater enters from
the open sea or heads

upstream.

ﬁ channel ﬁ

Red and green
colors and/or lights
indicate the
preferred (primary)
channel. If green is
on top, the preferred
channel is to the
right; if red is on
top, the preferred
channel is to the left.

ﬁ open waters

channel —

Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct
course when returning from
open waters or heading
upstream.

Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped
buoys marked with odd numbers.

Daymarks are permanently

placed signs attached to structures,

such as posts, in the water. Common
daymarks are red triangles (equivalent to
nuns) and green squares (equivalent to
cans). They may be lighted also.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors
and numbers discussed above; in addition,
they have a matching colored light.




Non-Lateral Markers

Non-lateral markers are navigational aids that give information

about topics other than the edges of safe water areas. The most

common are regulatory markers, as shown below, that are white
and use orange markings and black lettering. These markers are
found on lakes and rivers.

Information Exclusion

Squares indicate Crossed diamonds

where to find food, indicate areas off-

supplies, repairs, limits to all vessels

etc. and give direc- such as swimming ez
tions and other areas, dams, and
information. spillways.

(ontrolled Danger

Circles indicate Diamonds warn of

a controlled area dangers such as rocks,

such as speed shoals, construction, =
limit, no fishing or dams, or stumps. ‘
anchoring, ski only Always proceed with

or no skiing, or caution.

“slow, no wake.”

Other Non-Lateral Markers

Safe Water Marks are white
with red vertical stripes and
mark mid-channels or fairways.

They may be passed on either
side.

Inland Waters Obstruction Marks are
white with black vertical stripes and
indicate an obstruction to navigation. You
should not pass between these buoys and
the shore.

Mooring Buoy

Another kind of buoy you may
encounter is the mooring buoy.
These are white with a blue
horizontal band. They are usually

placed in marinas and other areas where vessels are
allowed to anchor.




Weather Emergencies

Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected
situations for vessel operators. Even meteorologists have trouble
predicting rapid weather changes. You should always monitor
weather developments. One way is to tune a VHF radio into the
frequencies listed below.

What to Do If Caught in Foul Weather

@ Be sure your personal flotation device (life jacket) is properly
secured on your body.

@ If there is fog, sound your fog horn.

@ Head for the nearest shore that is safe to approach.

@ Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. PWCs
should head into the waves at a 90-degree angle.

@ Reduce speed.

@ Scat passengers on the bottom of the vessel, as close to the
centerline as possible.

@ Minimize the danger of having your vessel struck by

lightning by seeking shelter in advance of a storm. If caught

on open water during a thunderstorm, stay low in the middle

of the vessel.

Secure loose items. Have emergency gear ready.

Keep the bilge free of water.

L 2R 2R 2

If the engine stops, drop anchor from the bow. If you have no
anchor, use a “sea anchor,” which is anything (a bucket on a

line, a tackle box) that will create drag and hold the bow into
the wind.

VHF Frequencies Broadcasting NOAA Weather Reports

162.400 MHz  162.500 MHz
162.425 MHz  162.525 MHz
162.450 MHz  162.550 MHz
162.475 MHz

VHF Channels for Recreational Boaters

6o Intership safety communications only

L S Communications between vessels (commercial
and recreational), and ship to coast

13, Strictly for navigational purposes by vessels at
bridges, locks, and harbors

16......cccoeuee. Distress and safety calls to Coast Guard and
others, and to initiate calls to other vessels

22 e U.S. Coast Guard broadcasts of severe weather
warnings and other safety warnings

24-28 ......... Public telephone calls (to marine operator)

68, 69, 71.....Recreational vessel radio channels and ship
to coast




Other Boatinq Emerqen(ies @ If you should capsize or swamp your vessel, or if you have fallen

out and can’t get back in:

A safe boater knows how to prevent and respond to other boating )
* Stay with the vessel.

emergencies.

. * Try to reboard; or if the vessel is overturned or swamped,
Falling Overboard hang onto it or climb onto it. Get as much of your body out
@ To prevent falling overboard: of cold water as possible.

* Don't sit on the gunwale, bow, seat backs, or any other area @ If the vessel sinks or floats away, don’t panic.

not designed for seating. * If you are wearing a PFD, remain calm and wait for help.

* Don't sit on pedestal seats when at greater than idle speed. * If you aren’t wearing a PFD, look around for one or for other

* Don’t stand up in or lean out from the vessel. buoyant items to use as a flotation device.

* Don’t move about the vessel when underway. ¢ In cold water, float rather than tread.

@ If someone on your vessel falls overboard:
* Reduce speed.
* Throw the victim a personal flotation device (PFD).
* Turn the vessel around and carefully pull alongside the victim,

Hypothermia

@ Dress in several layers of clothing under your PFD, or wear a
wet suit or dry suit.

@ Learn to recognize the symptoms of hypothermia. Symptoms
begin with shivering and bluish lips and nails, and progress to a
coma and, ultimately, death.

@ To reduce the effects of hypothermia:

approaching the victim from downwind or into the wind,
whichever is stronger.

* Stop the engine. Pull the victim in over the stern.

(apsizing or Swamping * Get as much of your body out of the water as
@ To reduce the risk of capsizing or swamping: possible.

* Don't overload your vessel. Balance the load. * Don’t take your clothes off unless necessary.

* Turn your vessel at controlled speeds. Remember, clothes trap heat and can help

* Anchor to the bow of the vessel, never to the stern. you float.

* Don't boat in rough water or bad weather. * Draw your knees to your chest and your arms

id ing the maj f heat loss.
A,L LLTLNG to your sides protecting the major areas of heat loss



* Don’t thrash or move about. Excess motion consumes energy
and increases loss of body heat.

* Always wear a PFD. It helps you to float without excessive
movement and insulates your body.

* If others are in the water with you, huddle together with your
arms around their shoulders.

(arbon Monoxide Poisoning

Carbon monoxide is an invisible, odorless, tasteless gas that can be

deadly. To prevent carbon monoxide poisoning, keep air flowing

through the vessel and take extreme caution when running a

generator at dock or at anchor.

@ Whenever people are using a swim platform or are in the water
close to the stern, turn off all gasoline-powered generators with
transom exhaust ports.

@ Swimmers should never enter
the cavity between the swim
platform and the stern of the
vessel.

@ When boating, be careful

running downwind as exhaust gases may blow back on board.

On cabin cruisers, be aware that exhaust gases can blow back
into the stern when traveling into the wind.

Preventing Theft

Defend against theft of your vessel and equipment.

@ Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed.

* Store your vessel and trailer in a locked garage or storage area.

¢ Park another vehicle in front of the trailer, or lock the trailer
to a fixed object in a well-lighted area.

* Secure the vessel and trailer to a fixed object with a good
quality chain and lock. If moored, secure the vessel to the
dock with a steel cable and lock.

* Remove a trailer wheel if parked for an extended time.

* Purchase a quality trailer hitch lock and use it.

@ Chain and lock the motor and fuel tanks to the vessel.

@ Mark or engrave all equipment with an identifier such as your
driver’s license number.

@ Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your
vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional gear and
equipment. Make a complete inventory of your equipment,
vessel, and trailer.

@ Remove expensive electronics or other valuables if the vessel is
left unattended.

@ Cover your vessel and always remove the keys.

@ Tide and register your vessel.



Boater Safety Certification

Age & Boater (ertification Requirements for Operators
The Roberson/Archer Act of 1994 requires that every person who
operates a motorized vessel (including PWCs) on the waters of
Alabama must first obtain Alabama boater safety certification. This
requirement does not apply to operators of sailboats, rowboats, or
canoes.

Age to Operate Legally on Alabama Waters

@ No one under the age of 12 years may operate any motorized
vessel (including PWCs) under any circumstances.

@ Dersons under the age of 12 years are not eligible for Alabama
boater safety certification.

(ertification Requirements for Alabama Residents

¢ If you are under 12 years of age: You may 7oz obtain your
Alabama boater safety certification, and you may 7ot operate a
vessel under any circumstances.

@ If you are 12 or 13 years of age: You may obtain your
Alabama boater safety certification. After obtaining certifica-
tion, you may operate a vessel only if supervised on board by a
person who:

* Is at least 21 years of age and ...

ThE LN
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* Carries a valid proof of his or her Alabama boater safety certi-
fication and ...
* Is in position to take immediate physical control of the vessel.
@ If you are 14 years of age or older: After obtaining Alabama
boater safety certification, you may operate a vessel without
supervision.

(ertification Requirements for Residents of Other States
@ If you are under 12 years of age: You may 7ot obtain your

Alabama boater safety certification, and you may 7ot operate a

vessel under any circumstances.

@ If you are 12 or 13 years of age: You may operate a vessel on

Alabama waters only if supervised on board by a person who:

* Is at least 21 years of age and. ...

* Carries a valid proof of his or her Alabama boater safety certi-
fication (unless the supervising person is also a non-resident in
which case he or she is not required to have Alabama boater
safety certification) and ...

* [s in position to take immediate physical control of the vessel.

@ If you are 14 years of age or older: You may legally operate

a motorized vessel on Alabama waters for up to 45 days per
calendar year without supervision. After 45 days, you must have
a valid proof of boater safety certification (either Alabama non-
resident certification or certification from your home state).



Persons Exempt from Certification

Some persons may operate a motorized vessel on Alabama waters

without first obtaining Alabama boater safety certification.

@ Operators of commercial fishing vessels or who are engaged in
other valid commercial activity are not required to obtain boater
safety certification.

@ Dersons taking test drives of vessels for sale and accompanied by
a licensed vessel dealer are not required to obtain boater safety
certification.

@ DPersons may operate rented vessels without boater safety certifi-
cation if:

* He or she has been instructed in safe and proper operation of
the vessel by the rental business and ...

* He or she is not currently under suspension or revocation of
any boater certification or vessel operation privilege.

# Any Alabama resident 16 years of age or older who has not
obtained Alabama boater safety certification previously may, for
a period of 30 days following the date of sale of a vessel, operate
that vessel if these conditions are met.

* The vessel has been registered in the name of that person and ...

* A bill of sale for the vessel, naming that person as purchaser
and owner, is in the possession of the person at all times of
operation.

@ Every new resident of the State of Alabama may operate
without boater safety certification for a period of 30 days after
establishing residence in this state.

Persons Who May Not Be Issued (ertification

Alabama boater safety certification may not be issued to:

@ Persons under the age of 12 years

@ Persons whose vessel operating right or privilege is suspended or
revoked

@ DPersons who are habitual abusers of alcohol or drugs

@ Persons afflicted with or suffering from a physical or mental
disability which, in the opinion of the Director of Public Safety
or examining officer, will prevent the person from exercising
reasonable and ordinary control over a vessel

Requirement to Display Certification

If you are required to have boater safety certification, you must
carry proof of your Alabama boater safety certification on board
when operating a motorized vessel and make it available upon
request to any person with law enforcement authority.



How to Obtain Boater Certification

If you are 12 years of age or older, you may obtain Alabama boater

safety certification by doing the following:

1. Go to a Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Examining
Office in your county of residence.

2.Fill out the application form and pay the Certification
Application Fee.

3. Receive a certification of examination by passing a written exam
based on material from this manual—questions on navigation
rules, laws, safety equipment, and the waterways marking system.
or...

Receive a certification of examination exemption by presenting
any one of the following:
* A valid course completion certificate obtained by passing a
boating safety course:
- Offered by the U.S. Power Squadrons or by the U.S. Coast
Guard Auxiliary or ...
- Approved by the Alabama Marine Police Division
* A valid U.S. Coast Guard Motorboat Operator’s License
* Proof that you were 40 years old or older as of April 28, 1994
4. Present your certification of examination or certification of
examination exemption to the Department of Public Safety
Driver’s License Examining Office in your county of residence.
You also must provide identification to the license examiner.

Identification may consist of, but is not limited to, one of the
following; birth certificate—original or certified copy (required
for juvenile); certified school record (required for juvenile);
marriage license; original Social Security card (required for
juvenile and non-residents); passport; military identification;
1-94; valid Alabama or out-of-state drivers license; DD 214; or
resident alien papers.

5. Pay the boater safety certification fee if applying other than at
the time of your automobile driver’s license, learner’s license, or
non-driver I.D. renewal.

Boater Certification Fees

Certification Application Fee (for examination or

examination exemption) CASHONLY ................. $5.00
Boater Safety Certification (done at the same time as

issuance of driver’s license or learner’s license) ............... N/C
Boater Safety Certification (other than at the time of driver’s
license, learner’s license, or non-driver I.D. renewal) . .. ... $23.00
Duplicate Certification, first and subsequent

duplicate (lost or destroyed) . . .......... . oL $18.00
Duplicate (otherwise) ....................... Cost of original
Reinstatement after revocation or suspension ........... $50.00
License fees shown above are subject to change and will be slightly higher in
counties where local legislation permits a higﬁer fee.

6. Your Alabama boater safety certification will appear as a “V”
class placed on your automobile driver’s license. Or, if you do
not have an automobile driver’s license, you will be issued a
“Vessel Only” license. This is proof of your certification.



Other Facts about Boater Certification

@ Renewing boater certification: Your Alabama boater safety
certification will be renewed at no charge every four years
when your Alabama automobile driver’s license is renewed,
unless at the time of renewal your boater certification has been
suspended or revoked.

® Lost, destroyed, or damaged certifications: If your proof of
certification is lost or destroyed or becomes illegible, but has
not yet expired, you should apply for a duplicate at the probate
judge or license commissioner’s office. No examination is
necessary, but proof of identity is required.

* Any person making a false affidavit in obtaining a duplicate proof
of certification is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and will be
punished accordingly by a fine or imprisonment, or both.

* In addition, any person who, on any application for certifica-
tion or renewal, willfully makes a false statement or conceals
or withholds a material fact may be prosecuted for perjury or
fraud, respectively.

@ Alabama boater safety certification cancellation, revoca-
tion, or suspension: Your Alabama boater safety certification
can be cancelled, suspended, or revoked if you operate a vessel
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or in a reckless or
careless manner, or on points. The point system has been insti-
tuted as a means of identifying the problem vessel operator.

This system will be established and maintained by the
Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources through
regulations. Any person whose certification has been cancelled,
suspended, or revoked must pay a $50.00 reinstatement fee in
addition to meeting other requirements of the state law before
recertification.

* Cancellation: The Commissioner of Conservation is authorized
to cancel any Alabama boater safety certification upon deter-
mining that a person was not entitled to the certification.
Failure to give required or correct information on an applica-
tion is also grounds for cancellation.

* Revocation: Alabama boater safety certification may be revoked

if an operator is convicted of certain offenses. After the period

of revocation has expired, the operator may apply for new
certification and will be required to take and pass the exami-
nation.

Suspension: Alabama boater safety certification may be

suspended if an operator is convicted of certain offenses or is

determined to be incompetent to operate a vessel. After the
period of suspension, the certification may be reinstated unless
all the requirements of the suspension were not met.

Reinstatement: The operator must pay the reinstatement fee
and obtain a duplicate proof of certification regardless of
whether it is expired or not.



Required Equipment

When preparing to go out on a vessel, the operator must
check that the legally required equipment is on board.

Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)

@ All vessels must carry one Type I, II, III, or V U.S. Coast
Guard-approved PFD for each person on board or being
towed. If a Type V PED is used, it must be approved for the
activity at hand.

@ One Type IV U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD must be on
board vessels 16 feet long or longer, in addition to the require-
ment above.

@ Children under 8 years of age must wear a propetly secured
U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD at all times while on board
any vessel, except when in an enclosed cabin.

@ Every person on board a PWC or being towed behind a vessel
must wear a propetly secured USCG-approved PED.

@ Each person on board a vessel within 800 feet below a hydro-
electric dam and/or navigational lock and dam must wear a
Type L, I, 111, or V U.S. Coast Guard—approved PFD.

@ Besides being USCG-approved, all PFDs must be:

* In good and serviceable condition.
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* Readily accessible, which means you are able to put the PFD
on quickly in an emergency.

* Of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is
based on body weight and chest size.

TYPE I: Offshore Life Jacket

These vests are geared for rough or

remote waters where rescue may
take awhile. They are excellent for
flotation and will turn most uncon-
scious persons face up.

TYPE II: Near-Shore Vest

These vests are good for calm waters
and fast rescues. Type II vests may
lack the capacity to turn uncon-
scious wearers face up.

TYPEIII: Flotation Aid

These vests or full-sleeved jackets
are good for calm waters and fast
rescues. They are not for rough
waters since they will not turn a

person face up.




TYPE IV: Throwable Device

These cushions or ring buoys are
designed to be thrown to someone
in trouble. They are not for long
hours in rough waters, non-
swimmers, or the unconscious.

TYPEV: Special-Use Device

These windsurfing vests, deck
suits, hybrid PFDs, and others are
designed for specific activities, such
as kayaking or water-skiing. 70 be
acceptable, Type V PFDs must be
used in accordance with their label.

Fire Extinguishers
@ All vessels are required to have a Type B fire extinguisher(s) on
board if one or more of the following conditions exist:
* Inboard or inboard/outboard engines
* Closed compartments under seats where portable fuel tanks
may be stored
* Permanently installed fuel tanks
* Closed or semi-closed living spaces

* Devices on board that consume petroleum
products (e.g., stoves, lanterns)

@ Approved types of fire extinguishers
are identified by the following marking
on the label—*Marine Type USCG o
Approved”—followed by the type and S0 e

oy &
0y, XTINGUISHE® &
7R shows S

size symbols and the approval number.
@ Extinguishers must be mounted in
an accessible area. Check extinguishers annually
to make sure they are charged, and be sure you know how to
operate them.
@ Use this chart to determine the type and quantity required.

Fire Extinguisher Requirements
Classification Foam  Carbon Dioxide Dry Chemical
type & size minimum gallons minimum pounds minimum pounds
B-1 11/4 4
B-1I 21/2 15 10
Without With
Length Class Fixed System Fixed System*
Less than 26 ft. one B-I None
26 ft. to less than 40 ft. two B-I or one B-II one B-I
40 ft. to less than 65 ft. three B-T or two B-1 or
one B-II and one B-I one B-II
* refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system




Navigation Lights

The required navigation lights must be displayed between sunset
and sunrise and in periods of restricted visibility such as fog or
heavy rain. For requirements for larger vessels, see the U.S. Coast
Guard’s Navigation Rules.

Power-Driven Vessels When Underway

If less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) long, these vessels must exhibit

the lights as shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven vessels

include sailboats operating under power. The required lights are:

@ Red and green sidelights visible from at least two miles away (or
if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one mile away).

@ An all-round white light or both a masthead light and a stern-
light visible from at least two miles away on a dark, clear night.
The all-round white light (or the masthead light) must be at
least 3.3 feet (1 meter) higher than the sidelights.

Unpowered Vessels When Underway
Unpowered vessels are sailboats or vessels that are paddled, poled,
or rowed.
@ If less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) long, these vessels must exhibit
the lights as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:
* Red and green sidelights visible from at least two miles away
(or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one mile away).
* A sternlight visible from at least two miles away.
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@ If less than 23.0 feet (7 meters) long, these vessels:
o If practical, must exhibit the same lights as required for
unpowered vessels listed above.
* If not practical, must have on hand at least one lantern or
flashlight shining a white light as shown in illustration 3.

All Vessels When Not Underway

@ All vessels are required to display a white light visible in all
directions whenever they are moored or anchored away from
dock between sunset and sunrise.

1. Power-Driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

The masthead light and
sternlight may be combined
as an all-round white light
on vessels less than 39.4 feet.




2. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet
An alternative
to the sidelights
and sternlight
is a combina-
tion red, green,
and white light,
which must be
exhibited near
the top of the
mast.
Vessel operators should
never leave shore
without a flashlight.
Even if you plan to
return before dark,
unforeseen developments
might delay your return
past nightfall.

Ventilation Systems
The purpose of ventilation systems is to avoid explosions by
removing flammable gases. Properly installed ventilation systems
greatly reduce
the chance of a

~—————

life-threatening

explosion.

@ All gasoline-powered
vessels, constructed in a
way that would entrap fumes, must have at least two
ventilation ducts fitted with cowls to remove the fumes.

@ If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, turn
it on for at least four minutes after fueling and before starting
your engine.

@ If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation system
(for example, a personal watercraft), open the engine compart-
ment and sniff for gasoline fumes before starting the engine.

Backfire Flame Arrestors

@ Because vessel engines may backfire, all power-driven vessels
(except outboards) that are fueled with gasoline must have a
U.S. Coast Guard-approved (comply with SAE J-1928 or UL
1111 standards) backfire flame arrestor on each carburetor.

@ Periodically clean the flame arrestor and check for any damage.

RPN
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Mufflers and Noise Level Limits

Excessive noise can prevent a vessel operator from hearing signals

and voices.

@ A vessel’s engine must have a muffler or exhaust water manifold
for noise reduction or another effective muffling system.

@ The use of cut-outs or exhaust stacks is prohibited.

@ Itis illegal to operate a powerboat or PWC, or allow others

to operate it, in such a manner that the noise level exceeds 86

decibels measured at 50 feet from the vessel. You must submit

to a noise level test if requested by a law enforcement officer.
@ Itis illegal for recreational boaters to use or have on board a
siren of any type while operating on the waters of Alabama.
Sound-Producing Devices
@ On Alabama state waters, the requirements for sound-producing
devices are:

* Vessels less than 16 feet long are not required to have a sound-
producing device, but it is szrongly recommended that these
vessels carry a horn or whistle on board.

* Vessels 16 feet to 26 feet long are required to carry on board
a whistle or horn or some other means to make an efficient
sound signal audible for at least one-half mile.

® Vessels 26 feet to 40 feet long are required to carry on board
a whistle or horn or some other means to make an efficient
sound signal audible for at least one mile.
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@ On federally controlled waters (see page 21), the requirements for
sound-producing devices are:

* Vessels less than 65.6 feet (20 meters) in length, which
includes PWCs, are required to carry on board a whistle or
horn or some other means to make an efficient sound signal
audible for at least one-half mile.

* Vessels that are 65.6 feet (20 meters) or more in length are
required to carry on board a whistle or horn, and a bell that
are audible for at least one mile.

Some sound signals that you should be familiar with are:

Restricted Visibility

@ One prolonged blast at intervals of not more than
two minutes is the signal used by power-driven vessels
when underway.

@ One prolonged blast plus two short blasts at intervals
of not more than two minutes is the signal used by
sailboats when under sail alone.

Warning

@ One prolonged blast is a warning signal (for example,
when coming around a blind bend or exiting a slip).

@ Five (or more) short, rapid blasts are used to signal
danger or to signal that you do not understand or that
you disagree with the other boater’s intentions.




Federally Controlled Waters

Vessels must observe federal requirements when operating on:
@ Coastal waters

@ The Great Lakes

@ Territorial seas

@ Waters which are two miles wide or wider and are directly
connected to one of the above

Other Equipment

Ignition Safety Switch

@ An emergency ignition safety switch
is designed to shut the engine down
if the operator is thrown from the
proper operating position.

® The ignition safety switch works
by attaching a lanyard between the
operator and the switch. If the lanyard is removed from the
switch, the engine will shut off.

@ Alabama law requires that vessels that are less than 24 feet in
length, have an open cockpit, and are powered by more than
50 horsepower be equipped with an ignition safety switch. The
lanyard of the switch must be attached to the person, clothing,
or PED of the operator.

Diver-Down Flags

@ Federal and state law requires that scuba divers and snorkelers
display a diver-down flag to mark the diving area. Alabama law
requires that vessel operators stay at least 100 feet away from a
displayed flag.

@ Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.

Alfa Flag

Divers Flag

A rectangular red flag, at A blue and white flag, at
least 12 x 12 inches, with least 3.3 feet (1 meter) high

a white diagonal stripe and visible from all direc-
is used to indicate the tions, must be displayed
presence of a submerged on vessels on federally
diver in the area. Alabama  controlled waters whenever
law requires that divers these vessels are restricted
prominently display this in their ability to maneuver

flag and stay within a 50- by the diving operation.
foot radius of the flag.




On the Water

In addition to the laws mentioned previously,
here are some other Alabama regulations that apply when vessel
operators are on the water.

Unlawful and Danqgerous Operation

Alabama law designates certain dangerous operating practices as

illegal. Examples of illegal and dangerous operation follow.

@ Reckless Operation of a vessel, or reckless manipulation of water
skis or similar devices, is the failure to exercise the care necessary
to protect the life, safety, or property of others. Some examples
of reckless operation are:

* Operating in violation of the navigation rules described on
pages 4-5

* Jumping the wake of another vessel unnecessarily close to that
vessel, or encircling or buzzing another vessel or person in the
water

* Operating within 100 feet of a diver-down flag (see page 21)

* Weaving your vessel through congested waterway traffic or
swerving at the last possible moment in order to avoid a
collision

@ Careless Operation of a vessel is operating in a negligent,
careless, or inattentive manner that endangers the life, safety, or
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property of others. Some examples of careless operation are:

* Operating a vessel not equipped with the required safety
equipment

* Failure to maintain a proper lookout for other vessels or
persons in the water

Failure to Regulate Speed is operating at speeds greater than

that which allows the operator to bring the vessel to a stop

within a clear distance ahead, or at speeds which cause danger
or inconvenience to others given the existing weather and traffic
conditions. A vessel operator must not:

* Operate at a speed which causes a hazardous wake or wash
when approaching another vessel or when entering or leaving
a marina or harbor area

* Operate above a plane speed when persons or gear on board
the vessel are such that the operator’s view is obstructed or safe
operation is impaired

* Exceed any posted speed limitations such as “idle speed” or
“no wake speed” areas or any other speed zones

“No Wake Speed” means a speed at which your vessel does
not produce a wake, or in other words, leaves a flat wave
disturbance; not to exceed 5 miles per hour.

“Idle Speed” or “Slow, No Wake” means the slowest speed at
which it is possible to maintain steering, not to exceed 5 mph.




@ Overloading or Overpowering is loading the vessel with placed on public waters by proper authorities. Also, it is illegal
passengers or gear beyond the recommended capacity shown to move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any naviga-
on the capacity plate (taking into consideration weather and tional aid.
existing conditions) or powering a vessel beyond the recom- @ Do not obstruct a pier, boat ramp, or access to any facility.
mended horsepower shown on the capacity plate. It is illegal
to operate, or allow others to operate, a vessel without a Homeland SQ(uritv Restrictions
permanent capacity plate. Recreational boaters have a role in keeping our waterways safe and

# Riding on the Bow, Deck, or Gunwale is allowing passengers | secure.
to ride on the bow, gunwale, transom, seat backs, seats on raised | @ Violators of the restrictions below can expect a quick and severe

decks, or any other place where there may be a chance of falling response.
overboard. * Do not approach within 100 yards, and slow to minimum
speed within 500 yards, of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you need

Keep in mind ... As the owner of a vessel, it is illegal for to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for safe passage,
you to knowingly allow operation of your vessel by others you must contact the U.S. Naval vessel or the U.S. Coast Guard
in violation of the laws of Alabama. This includes allowing escort vessel on VHFE-FM channel 16.
operation of your vessel by children under the age of 12 * Observe and avoid all security zones. Avoid commercial port
years or by others not holding a valid boater certification. areas, especially those that involve military, cruise-line, or

petroleum facilidies.
* Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power

Obstructing Navigation plants, etc.
@ You must not anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river * Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in channels.
or channel that will prevent or interfere with any other vessel @ Keep a sharp eye out for anything that looks peculiar or out of
passing through the same area. the ordinary. Report all activities that seem suspicious to the
@ It is illegal to moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (except for a local authorities, the U.S. Coast Guard, or the port or marina
mooring buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid security. ThE LA E
Valalalalaaa Ve



Vessel Accidents

@ The operator of a vessel involved in an accident must submit
a written report to the Alabama Marine Police Division if, as a
result of the accident:

* A person dies or disappears or ...

* A person is injured and remains incapacitated for more than
72 hours or ...

* Damage to the vessel and other property exceeds $50.

@ Reports of accidents must be made within 10 days of the
accident on the forms provided by Marine Police officers, the
Marine Police Division, or the county sheriff’s office.

@ An operator involved in a boating accident should stop his or
her vessel immediately at the scene of the accident and:

* Give assistance to anyone injured in the accident.

* Give their name, address, and identifying number of their
vessel as well as the names and addresses of passengers to the
other vessel’s operator and/or passengers.

@ A uniformed Marine Police officer, county sheriff, or other
authorized enforcement officer may arrest, at the scene of the
accident, any person they reasonably believe contributed to the
accident.

@ A person who unlawfully and unintentionally causes the death
of another person, while engaged in violation of any boating
law or regulation, will be guilty of homicide.

ThE LN
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Alcohol and Drugs

Alabama law prohibits anyone from boating under the influence

(BUI)—that is, operating any boat, sailboat, personal watercraft,

water skis, sailboard, or similar device while intoxicated due to

alcohol or any combination of alcohol, controlled substances, or

drugs. Alcohol and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision,

poor coordination, impaired judgment, and slow reaction time.

Alcohol contributes to about %5 of all fatal boating accidents.

@ Alabama law specifically states that it is illegal to be in physical
control of any vessel, water skis, or similar device if the operator:

* Has a concentration of alcohol in his or her blood of 0.08% or more.

* Is under the influence of:

- Alcohol, any controlled substance, or drugs.
- Any combination of alcohol, controlled substances, or drugs.
- Any substance which impairs the operator’s mental or
physical faculties.
@ Alabama law establishes the following penalties for those
arrested and convicted of boating under the influence.

* On the first offense, a fine up to $2,100 and/or sentence of
one year in jail, and suspension of his or her operator’s certifi-
cation for 90 days

* On the second offense, a fine up to $5,100 and/or sentence
of up to one year in jail with a mandatory sentence of not less
than 5 days or community service for not less than 30 days,
and suspension of his or her operator’s certification for one year



* On the third offense, a fine up to $10,100 and/or sentence of | ® Whenever you are contacted by one of these
up to one year in jail with a mandatory sentence of not less officers, you must stop and permit the officer to
than 60 days, and suspension of his or her operator’s certifica- come alongside to check your vessel registration
tion for three years and required safety equipment.
@ Ific is believed that a person who operates a vessel on the
waters of Alabama is boating under the influence of alcohol
or any other controlled substance, he or she must submit to a
field breath test or any other
approved testing for blood
alcohol concentration. Refusal [§
to submit to a field breath
test, or other approved testing,

Marine Sanitation Act

The Marine Sanitation Act 2002-59 (Clean Boating Bill)
was signed into law on January 31, 2002, and became
effective on October 1, 2003. This law:

will result in the same punish- fle . . . .
p * Prohibits the docking, storing, anchoring, or mooring

ment as provided in Alabama

law for operators of motor Just remember ) 3
this simple rule: at marinas without a pump-out, or approved waste

of vessels with a Type III marine sanitation device

vehicles on state highways.

Don’t Drink and Boat! disposal system (except in emergency situations)
Enforcement - * Requires the inspection of marine sanitation devices on
@ The boating laws of Alabama are enforced by Marine Police both recreational and residence vessels and the issuing of
officers, county sheriffs, and any other authorized peace officer or yearly inspection decals by an officer of the Department
law enforcement officer. of Conservation and Natural Resources
@ They have the authority to stop and board vessels in order to ¢ C}narges the' officers of t'he Dep'artfnent of C<.)nserv aFion
check for compliance with state and federal laws. The U.S. Coast with enforcing the Marine Sanitation Act as it pertains
Guard also has enforcement authority on all federally controlled to the regulation of boat sewage discharges
waters.



Specifically for PW(s

Personal watercraft (PWC) operators must obey the laws
that apply to other vessels as well as obey additional requirements
that apply specifically to the operation of personal watercraft.

Legal Requirements Specific to PW(s

@ Each person on board a PWC must wear a properly secured
U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD.

@ PWCs must either
be equipped with an
ignition safety switch
or have a self-circling
feature if the operator
falls off. If the PWC
is equipped with an
ignition safety switch,

the lanyard must be
attached to the person, clothing, or PFD of the operator.

@ DPWC operators are subject to the age restrictions and boater
safety certification requirements on pages 12-15.

@ PWCs must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner.
It is illegal to operate a PWC in a way that endangers the life,

limb, or property of others. Specifically, it is against the law to:
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* Weave your PWC through congested waterway traffic at high
speed

* Follow closely behind and within the wake of a vessel towing
a person on water skis or other similar devices

* Cut between a vessel and the person(s) being towed by that
vessel

* Jump the wake of another vessel unnecessarily close to that
vessel

* Encircle or buzz another vessel or person in the water

* Cross the path of another vessel at right angles while close
to the stern of the other vessel or when visibility around the
other vessel is obstructed

* Swerve at the last possible moment to avoid a collision

* Chase, harass, or disturb wildlife or birds with your PWC

It is strongly recommended that PWCs be operated only during

daylight hours. If a PWC is operated at night, it must display

the required navigation lights.

Keep in mind ... As the owner of a PWC, you are legally
responsible if you authorize or knowingly permit the PWC
to be operated in violation of Alabama law.




g x @ Every PWC towing a person(s) on water skis or a similar device
Spl’(lflca"y for Sk“nq must have mirrors mounted on both the right and left sides
Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis of the PWC (but not attached to the steering control) and the

or a similar device have additional laws they must follow. mirrors must be at least 2.5 inches high by 4 inches wide.
@ The vessel operator must maintain reasonable distance from

Legal Requirements for Towing Skiers

other vessels, people, and property to avoid endangering life or
@ Itis illegal for vessels to tow person(s) on water skis, an

property. It is illegal to tow a person on water skis or similar
aquaplane, or a similar device between one hour after sunset

devices behind your vessel, or to manipulate the water skis or
and one hour before sunrise.

similar devices, in a manner that causes the towed person to
@ Each person being towed behind a vessel on water skis or collide with another person or object.

similar devices must wear a properly secured Type I, IL, III, or V
U.S. Coast Guard—approved PFD. Ski belts are not U.S. Coast
Guard-approved. It is the legal responsibility of the owner of
the towing vessel to enforce this requirement.

Hand Signals for Skiers /(’f_::__?:’ c"—'éfih\
T = =

7 Turn left Turn right
WQ ﬁ/l? / ) —__%
AR T3

Stop Speed up Slow down

@ Every vessel (except personal watercraft) towing a person(s) on

water skis or similar device must have: n

* A capable observer, other
than the operator, 12 years
of age or older or ...

* A wide-angle rearview mirror.
The size of the mirror must
be at least 78 sq. inches and
have a field of vision of at
least 170 degrees.




LEARN JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KNOW
ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON OUTDOORS IN ALABAMA!
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www.outdooralabama.com
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